- Improve driver compliance with traffic signals
- Monitor red light violations
- Reduce the risks involved in the red light violation enforcement of large intersections
How PhotoRED Works
- Within 500 feet of a red light camera intersection, you’ll see photo-enforced signs that remind drivers to comply with the traffic signal.
- If you enter the intersection after the light has turned red for one-half of a second, your vehicle will be photographed three times, along with a 12-second video capturing your vehicle in motion, by a camera system that uses traffic-light wiring and roadway sensors.
- The first photo is the stop bar to show that the light was red prior to your vehicle entering the intersection.
- The second photo is your vehicle’s license plate for identification purposes
- The third photo shows your vehicle proceeding through the intersection on a red light.
- Using this photographic documentation as evidence of your red light violation, the police department will issue you a $50 fine for the violation, which will be mailed to you.
- The photographic and video evidence of the violation will be available for review and inspection by the registered owner or driver of the vehicle.
- A photo-enforced red light moving violation is a $50.00 fine.
- The violation is a civil offense and doesn’t correlate to any driver license points or insurance implications—by law, the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) and insurance companies can’t be notified of the offense.
- The violation doesn’t affect drivers on court or DMV probation.
- If you were the vehicle’s driver during the red light moving violation, you’re liable for the fine. There’s a legal presumption that the vehicle’s registered owner, lessee or renter was the person who committed the violation, but you can challenge this presumption by affidavit or testimony under oath in open court if you’re the vehicles authorized owner, lessee or renter but weren’t driving the vehicle during the violation.
Paying or Contesting PhotoRED Fines
- Review the violation notice that you’ll receive in the mail, which includes three still photographs of your vehicle.
- View your violation images and video and pay for your violation at Violation Info.
- Arrange to meet with a PhotoRED program officer to review the evidence and discuss your violation.
- Request a court date for the evidence to be heard in the Arlington County General District Traffic Court. The PhotoRED office will make the court arrangements.
Although Arlington can legally monitor a total of 20 intersections, per Virginia State Code, 10 intersections currently use PhotoRED cameras:
- Columbia Pike and George Mason Drive
- Columbia Pike and S. Glebe Road
- Fort Myer Drive at Lee Highway
- Four Mile Run Drive and George Mason Drive
- Jefferson Davis Highway and 23rd Street S.
- Lee Highway and George Mason Drive
- N. Glebe Road at Fairfax Drive
- N. Glebe Road and Washington Boulevard
- N. Lynn Street at Lee Highway
- Washington Boulevard at Lee Highway
View a map of red light camera locations (PDF).
When examining an intersection for PhotoRED use, the County factors in the following:
- Accident rate
- Red light violation rate
- Ability of police to apprehend violators safely within a reasonable distance from the violation
- Pedestrian safety
For more information about the PhotoRED program, call our Special Operations Section at 703-228-4141.